It Sounded Better In My Head ARC Review

Title: It sounded better in my head

Author: Nina Kenwood

Original publication: August 6th, 2019

Expected Us Edition publication: April 30th, 2020

Pages: 288

My rating: 3/5

Goodreads summary:

From debut author Nina Kenwood comes a tender, funny, and compulsively readable novel about first love and its confusions, and all of the awkwardness of teen romance.

When her parents announce their impending divorce, Natalie can’t understand why no one is fighting, or at least mildly upset. Then Zach and Lucy, her two best friends, hook up, leaving her feeling slightly miffed and decidedly awkward. She’d always imagined she would end up with Zach one day―in the version of her life that played out like a TV show, with just the right amount of banter, pining, and meaningful looks. Now everything has changed, and nothing is quite making sense. Until an unexpected romance comes along and shakes things up even further.

It Sounded Better in My Head is a compulsively readable love letter to teenage romance in all of its awkward glory, perfect for fans To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Emergency Contact.

My review:

Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

I guess the title of the book perfectly resumes what I thought about it: “It sounded better in my head”. I don’t know why but I was excepting something more, maybe this genre isn’t for me anymore. It was still a nice and quick read, perfect to distract myself during lockdown.

Natalie’s insecurities are very realistic and I think that many people can find them relatable. She has a very low self-esteem mainly caused by acne, she’s a huge introvert and she has some difficulties socializing. At the same time I found her a little too immature for her age in certain moments, especially near the end of the book.

“Maybe I’ve never smiled or laughed at an appropriate time in my entire life and I just didn’t realise until this moment”

I felt like the secondary characters could have been developed a little bit more. Natalie’s parents were very irritating and I felt like her relationship with Alex moved a little too quickly. One of the best parts was definitely the friendship between Natalie, Lucy and Zach. I would have loved to see more of it.

The writing style is simple and fast-paced. This book is full of clichès but they didn’t bother me too much.

I’d reccomend “It sounded better in my head” to anyone who loves YA and is looking for a nice and fast-paced read.